Sehwag Did Get His Century!

I'm not entirely sure what the umpire is signa...


As some of you might be knowing, in yesterdays cricket match between India and Srilanka, (Click here for match commentary) Sehwag scored 99 while India won by 6 wickets. Did actually sehwag hit a century before India scored final run? Did umpire and scorer make a mistake?. Yes, they did.


Here is what happened, pure and simple:


Randiv bowled. The umpire called ‘no-ball’. There is a reason the umpire calls it as soon as a bowler bowls one – it is to let the batsman know that there are no real penalties attached to having a go. A batsman, on hearing that call, knows he can have a swing without running the risk of being bowled, caught, declared LBW.


So Randiv bowled. The umpire called. Sehwag had a swing, and despatched the ball over the ropes.

That is seven runs added to the total – one to the team total as an extra, the other six to Sehwag, the batsman who was quick to seize on the opportunity. Simple.


This is where the idiocy of umpires comes in: How could the game be over as soon as Randiv over-stepped? A ball, to be deemed bowled, has to be delivered; the batsman has to play/miss it; in the case of the former the ball has to be retrieved while the batsman runs, or not…there is no provision in cricket for declaring a result, and ending a match, at some intermediate stage of this process.


Thus, for umpires to declare that the game was over as soon as Randiv overstepped is plain folly.


Read Law 24 (No ball)

Runs resulting from a No ball

The one run penalty for a No ball shall be scored as a No ball extra. If other penalty runs have been awarded to either side, these shall be scored as in Law 42.17 (Penalty runs). Any runs completed by the batsmen or a boundary allowance shall be credited to the striker if the ball has been struck by the bat; otherwise they also shall be scored as No ball extras.


Where is the ambiguity? The law clearly says that any runs completed by the batsman, or a boundary allowance, off a no ball shall be credited to the striker.

Sehwag ‘completed’ a sixer. His score – unless the scorer is a congenital idiot – should have been 105. End of story.


The key is to understand that a game is not declared over midway through a cricketing action – which is the space between a ball being ‘live’ and being ‘dead’. Consider this example: India needs one run to win. Sehwag whacks the ball high in the air. While the ball is in the air, the batsman cross over and complete a run. The ball comes down, and is caught.


Is the game over, simply because the batsmen had crossed while the ball was in the air, and had not yet been caught? No, the verdict in this case would be, the batsman is out, the run doesn’t count. So clearly, runs and results are not declared at some arbitrary point while the ball is live – such a determination happens only after the ball is ‘dead’.


The law is clear. Sehwag deserves the century but umpire’s decision is final and binding.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Enjoyed this article? Subscribe to our RSS feed (or) sign-up for our free newsletter to hear all what Jain Says directly in your Inbox.

Subscribe via RSS or Email:

About author

Jain T. Chacko is a freelance writer by passion and an Engineer by profession. Active in the blogger world under the title "WhatJainSays" ever since 2010. Through "" he shares the latest buzz in the e-world, spread across thousands of websites. Loves sharing and learning also prays for world peace.
Related Posts with Thumbnails